Week In Review – 11/21/2010

WEEK IN REVIEW – 11/14 – 11/21/2010
The training for this week was the last big week prior to the marathon tapering so the miles on the run were fairly high and I feel like I am very prepared for the Dallas White Rock Marathon on 12/5/2010.  In my mind I am so prepared that I am going to layout my goal time for this marathon, and thanks to Lesley at Running It Off for convincing me that I can go this low:
3:29:00
This is a full hour faster then the Rock N Roll San Antonio from last year.  It might seem crazy but I am prepared.  My training this year has been much better than last year thanks to Coach C.  I also got an email from Mike Wien, whom I interviewed, that said that I could run a 3:35 based on the 1/2 marathon time of 1:41:16 at the DRC a couple of weeks ago.  Mike’s rationale was that a the pace I had if I double my time and add :30 to my pace I end up right around 3:35.  1:41 x 2 = 3:20.  26 miles x :30 = 13.  3:20 + :13 = 3:33.  So let’s shave another 4 minutes off that time and just go for it.  Maybe a pukie award from BDD will show up as well, but I am going to push myself to my limits.
Plus, for me putting it out there in the world wide web holds me accountable to the time and pushing myself.
Stats for the week:
Strength/Core – 2 sessions – 1 hr 30 min
Swim – 1800 yards in 45m49s or a 2:32/100y pace which includes rest
Bike – 42.44 miles in 2h45m0s which is a 15.43mph which included 45 minutes at HR >125 for recovery
Run – 47.7 miles in 7h17m20s which is a 9:10/mile pace
Pictures from my ride today:



ride1 Week In Review   11/21/2010
Lake Grapevine, Texas



Ride2 Week In Review   11/21/2010
Some fall foliage around Lake Grapevine



Ride3 Week In Review   11/21/2010
Everything in Texas is bigger!!!!!




Ride4 Week In Review   11/21/2010
Just a few cows on the side of the road…..missed the Longhorn though




Ride5 Week In Review   11/21/2010
They are on their way over to say high to the cyclist with a camera



Job Front:
I have an offer on the table that is exciting to have and Karen and I are discussing the pros and cons of the offer
House Front:
Another showing today.  If an offer is made on the house then the job discussion is easier to have.
Don’t forget that the Thanksgiving Athlete’s Plate menu is coming out on Thursday and will be insired by EMZ….of RUN-EMZ fame!!!!!
pf button both Week In Review   11/21/2010
  • Allison

    Glad you had a great week! I love riding out in Grapevine, my best friend and I meet up there quite often and ride and run!

    You are going KILL WR!!!!!!!!

  • Kristin

    Nice Pics!!! Its almost snowing here..almost!!

  • Jen

    Thanks for the pics!! You are so going to rock your PR in a few weeks! I am so excited for your upcoming race!

  • Lesley @ racingitoff.com

    You have that 3:29… I just know it!!!

  • Julie @ Hotlegs Runner

    we'll be racing on the same day. You will achieve a new PR and I will finish my first marathon before the cut-off time. There! I'm claiming it already! =D

  • ironmomma.com

    Where do you live? GORGEOUS!

  • Jason

    Kristin – that is something I definitely don't miss about New York. The snow…..not for me, well the shoveling is not for me. The rest of it I am game for.

    Thank you to all for the support of my goal of 3:29….I am excited about it and not going to pull up the actual min/mile until the day prior to the race when I program my Garmin. Otherwise I will psyche myself out. For me running is 95% mental.

    Ironmomma.com – I live in Lewisville which is just outside of Dallas. It is very pretty hear and if I had a complaint it would be the lack of seasons, but otherwise perfect for year round training.

  • Megan

    5 minutes in a race atmosphere with adrenaline? You can do it!

  • Jeff – DangleTheCarrot

    Way to put it out there man! You can hit that number. Have a plan and work the plan.

    I saw a dead cow on the road today during my ride. It must have been hit by a semi because it was like a freaking cow bomb exploded!

  • DRog

    Hit that goal!

  • Aimee

    Wow…that is a super fast marathon time! You can do it!!!

    How exciting about a job offer and a possible offer on your house!

  • Jon Gilchrist

    I love it…go get it JB!!

  • lindsay

    Selling a house – exciting! Great pics from the ride. I like stopping to take pics cause it gives me an excuse to rest haha.

    Oh BTW – got wayy more than the anticipated 3-buyers!

  • track coach and adorable wife

    good luck on hitting that goal time!

  • Jason

    Lindsay – I thought you had more than that, but hopefully the HM Keg idea puts me over the top.

    Jeff – I can only imagine what that must have looked like and really I just vurped….not good.

    Everybody else, thank you for the well wishes and check back here at 1pm PST for a new post on a movie release.

%d bloggers like this: